A poem-a-day for National Poetry Month

Goodbye, And Thanks for the Fish…

A little love magic from Leonard Cohen today, as a way to say thank you for all the amazing poems this month. Keep up the wild poeming when you can, and come back next year so we don’t miss you too much…
All the best, Shanna
***
***
Hey, That’s No Way To Say Goodbye by Leonard Cohen
*
I loved you in the morning, our kisses deep and warm,
your hair upon the pillow like a sleepy golden storm,
yes, many loved before us, I know that we are not new,
in city and in forest they smiled like me and you,
but now it’s come to distances and both of us must try,
your eyes are soft with sorrow,
Hey, that’s no way to say goodbye.
I’m not looking for another as I wander in my time,
walk me to the corner, our steps will always rhyme
you know my love goes with you as your love stays with me,
it’s just the way it changes, like the shoreline and the sea,
*
but let’s not talk of love or chains and things we can’t
untie,
your eyes are soft with sorrow,
Hey, that’s no way to say goodbye.
I loved you in the morning, our kisses deep and warm,
your hair upon the pillow like a sleepy golden storm,
yes many loved before us, I know that we are not new,
in city and in forest they smiled like me and you,
but let’s not talk of love or chains and things we can’t
untie,
your eyes are soft with sorrow,
Hey, that’s no way to say goodbye.
**
2 responses

  1. b_y

    Thanks for the prompts.
    It’s been fun.

    _barbara

    April 30, 2011 at 8:54 pm

  2. Carol A. Stephen

    Sorry to see this all end. I seldom posted, but I am still writing to the last week of prompts. They were AMAZING. I have also been doing the Poetic Asides and the NaPoWriMo challenges, so when I am done I will have almost 90 new poems! There were a couple of prompts here and there that I won’t attempt…

    But the prompts here were among the very best.

    Thanks for doing this!

    Carol A. Stephen
    P.S. Thanks for Leonard too! I am a huge huge fan of his. He is one of my muses, I think.

    May 1, 2011 at 5:03 am