A poem-a-day for National Poetry Month

Prompt #23: Dual Voices

Today’s photo and written prompt provided by by Kirsty Logan:


Write a poem in two voices: the girl and the bear.

 

***

Reminders for Participants: You can post your poem below in the comments, offer a link back to your site where the poem is posted, or comment about the experience of writing the poem (without actually posting the poem). If you’re going to comment on other participant’s poems, please remember that this is not a critique space — comments should be kept thoughtful and supportive. Lastly, remember you don’t have to use the prompt to write your poem — they’re here for your inspiration but they’re certainly not a requirement.

Let the Wild Poeming Being!

19 responses

  1. Mary Beth Frezon

    Lol I am do completely confused by this picture. Will ponder.

    April 23, 2011 at 5:33 am

  2. dorlamoorehouse

    Awesome prompt, but I ended up being inspired by this morning’s work in my container garden: http://dorlamoorehouse.com/2011/04/23/napowrimo-day-23-3/

    April 23, 2011 at 6:18 am

  3. Bill Noble

    FIVE DAYS

    That’s how long the first bloom has been opening
    on the iris that’s never bloomed for me before.
    This morning as I pad barefoot into the yard,
    there it is, royal purple, yellow veined, all unfurled.

    One of the falls brushes the wing of my nose.
    If there are words for the scent of orris,
    they might be *joy without haste.*
    The young day lifts from my shoulders.
    All the neighbor birds begin singing all at once.

    April 23, 2011 at 7:39 am

  4. While trying to determine
    How much I could bear he appeared
    Saying, “You have no reference point”
    motioning to the vacant room
    “ There are others…”
    “Shut Up!” I screamed
    And he touched my shoulder,
    wiped my nose and hugged me
    till the sun came up.

    April 23, 2011 at 8:22 am

  5. Robin Elizabeth Sampson

    I need to get back to doing these.

    April 23, 2011 at 11:24 am

  6. Not anything to do with the prompt, today, but prompted, nonetheless. This time by the title of Peter Porter’s last book which stared at me from a side table for a while.

    ‘No rest on the flight’: http://wp.me/pbg4K-4X

    April 23, 2011 at 12:57 pm

  7. Where do y’all find these photos? This one is awesome! It is almost an image of a dream I once had. Will be back with a poem shortly.

    April 23, 2011 at 4:37 pm

  8. Listen, Says the Bear

    Listen, says the bear,
    to the drum that’s in your heart,
    read the ancient wisdom
    written on your soul.

    The pain is more
    than I can bear,
    raw, gaping wounds,
    claws rip and tear,
    my body fails,
    no dreams, can’t sleep,
    the world’s woes are my woes,
    and this makes me weep.

    Listen, says the bear,
    try and feel my strength,
    see my claw marks up on the tree,
    try to meet their length.

    My fear is great,
    I’ll come to some harm,
    all will be forever lost.
    Oh, tell me, what’s the charm?

    Meet me in the dark, deep cave,
    where the fire and cauldron are,
    let go the burden, hug me tight,
    and I will lift you to the stars.

    April 23, 2011 at 4:48 pm

  9. Oh bear, dearest bear
    I was dreaming
    of a cave
    of a cave and
    someone nuzzling my ear.
    who came to my cave
    and stroked my ears
    with long furless fingers?

    I dreamt I was wrapped
    in long loving arms.
    I heard two hearts singing.
    one high one low
    I dreamt my love
    pulled magic from the world
    to save me
    and you were saved?
    I was saved.
    my heart set beating.
    my hand reached out
    with laughing
    laughing and singing
    I felt my love’s magic
    I felt his magic draw me in.
    love sleeps the winter
    I did not wish to wake.

    April 23, 2011 at 6:09 pm

  10. Pingback: National Poetry Month Day #23

  11. b_y

    Morning, Girl. Morning, Bear

    another day, another day, another day, another day
    another day, another damnday, another day, another day
    another damnday, another day, another damnday, another day
    another day, another damnday, another damnday, another day
    another day, another day, another day, another damnday
    sigh
    damnright, sigh

    April 23, 2011 at 8:25 pm

  12. Jennifer P-W.

    Not quite to the prompt, as only one voice is represented here.

    Please, make it all
    “just right” again.

    Your scorn and rancor
    are heavy as a bruin
    hanging off my shoulders.
    Arrogance, thy name is
    unbearable you. Remind me
    why we wanted to marry
    in the first place?

    So you’re hungry (again) as a,
    well, you know…
    Just shut your effin’ pie hole.

    Note to self:
    Never invite a bear
    to a sleepover.

    J. Pratt-Walter

    April 23, 2011 at 9:31 pm

  13. Do you think my toes are ugly?

    No
    I don’t think
    You know, it’s just
    They’re okay

    April 23, 2011 at 9:33 pm

  14. Belated!

    “Just Right”:

    http://yearofthebooks.wordpress.com/2011/04/24/poem-a-day-23/

    April 24, 2011 at 12:08 pm

  15. Pingback: catbriar

  16. Kam Leitner

    Said she: “Holy crap, not again!”
    Said he: “Grrrrr, it happens to everyone sometimes,
    ya know”
    And so it goes
    Does he not find her attractive?
    She’s not very,
    well,
    furry –
    and yet, she has that je ne cai quoi, nes pas?
    Sez he: “Come on, let’s try
    again…”

    April 26, 2011 at 8:28 am

  17. Catching up…
    http://jacquezyon.wordpress.com/2011/04/26/poem23-vigil/

    April 26, 2011 at 11:26 am

  18. Pingback: Poem#23 – Vigil « Black Satin