A poem-a-day for National Poetry Month

Prompt #19: Lightbulbs

Today’s prompt is provided by ReadWritePoem:

Visit last year’s prompt at ReadWritePoem. Then, list 3-5 lightbulb moments you’ve had in your lifetime. Is there a way to string them together in a single poem? Try it now.

***

Reminders for Participants: You can post your poem below in the comments, offer a link back to your site where the poem is posted, or comment about the experience of writing the poem (without actually posting the poem). If you’re going to comment on other participant’s poems, please remember that this is not a critique space — comments should be kept thoughtful and supportive. Lastly, remember you don’t have to use the prompt to write your poem — they’re here for your inspiration but they’re certainly not a requirement.

Let the Wild Poeming Being!

24 responses

  1. b_y

    This as a hard prompt for me the first time. Didn’t get easier.

    He 
    was
    sexy.
    He was tall, and blond, and smart.
    His older sister drove a red Karmann Ghia and sold black trash bags bursting with Harriman weed, cheap.
    His younger sister helped his mother run the studs.
    Horses.  Spotted ponies.  Appaloosa stallions
    He and I one afternoon used my Camero as a farm truck.
    Hauled barbed wire across the pasture, gullies, mud holes, and all in the back seat, pulled fence posts upright in low gear.
    He was sexy.
    He had big dark blue eyes. He moved–nice.
    He sounded sexy.  Hell, he even smelled sexy.
    His father was an engineer at Oak Ridge.
    I think I was in love with the family that was so different from mine, but I was crazy for him, too.
    His mother said he wasn’t good enough for me.
    That he was crazy.  Once, she said, 
    he tried to blow the house up, all 
    of them in it.  I didn’t care.
    After we broke up, and got together again,
    we tried making love in a hayloft.  Don’t.
    It took me some while to learn:  that smell
    that odor of concentrated sex, 
    old love-making,
    sweat, leather and hay
    was the re-purposed saddle girth he used as a belt.

    April 19, 2011 at 7:08 am

    • b_y

      Now, That Is Embarassing.

      Wrong poem/prompt That’s why I usually post links instead of poems.

      my Enlightenment Poem is at http://wp.me/pdTja-1MB

      April 19, 2011 at 7:14 am

      • b_y – i loved both of them – no embarrassment needed!

        April 19, 2011 at 7:19 am

    • Your light bulb moment was hilarious. Chortles smirks and splutters…gave me a good laugh which I very much need today.Thanks.

      April 19, 2011 at 5:39 pm

  2. I am posting another moment on my blog. http://www.artsroundup.com/wp/?p=2985

    This one’s a little too much still for there.

    – – – – – – –

    Late night
    my thoughts were
    splattering everywhere
    with news unfurled from
    the answering machine.
    An offer to make an impossibility
    modernly possible
    here, my dream, true.
    Every scrap of me awake
    with every bursting emotion
    of potential.
    The bed was dark as we climbed in,
    a place to touch the tomorrows.
    to have the moment of saying yes.
    He was asleep.
    Asleep.
    My brain exploding now broke off
    into – how? asleep? now?
    joy, possibles, anger, gasping
    I sat looking into darkness sleeping.
    oh.
    It would always be like this.
    oh.
    Felt like the good deep breath.
    Felt like the precious cup of water.
    I lay down and fell into blesséd sleep.
    No decision to be made at all.

    The next morning calm and silent.
    “so you want to talk about this?” he asked.
    “nope.”
    “Shouldn’t we talk about this?”
    “Nothing to discuss.”
    Leaving me to my own
    decision and mourning.

    April 19, 2011 at 7:14 am

  3. Kam Leitner

    Long ago
    I learned
    that I could protect myself

    I had to learn this, or die
    and death was unappealing

    Almost as long ago
    I learned
    that this precious moment
    is
    everything
    Experience this, and you have lives

    Not so long ago
    I learned
    much to my dismay
    that
    you
    can’t
    fix
    everything
    For this,
    I will be sad for a long long time

    April 19, 2011 at 7:20 am

    • might have to nail that to my wall, kam.

      April 19, 2011 at 7:31 am

  4. Pingback: National Poetry Day #19

  5. dorlamoorehouse

    I was going to write about a lightbulb moment. But then I decided to write about a lizard instead. 😛

    http://dorlamoorehouse.com/2011/04/19/napowrimo-day-19-4/

    April 19, 2011 at 8:30 am

    • Very nice!

      April 19, 2011 at 8:40 pm

  6. wow Kam

    April 19, 2011 at 9:34 am

  7. Jennifer P-W.

    Moment

    Open the well-turned
    cover to the Book of Me
    and experience all the
    Feminine Mysteries
    filed under “Wow.”

    J. Pratt-Walter

    April 19, 2011 at 10:33 am

  8. Nearly didn’t make it at all!

    http://nikkimagennis.blogspot.com/2011/04/100000-w-bulb.html

    April 19, 2011 at 11:19 am

  9. Pingback: éclat « Tony Linde

  10. Mine is someone else’s lightbulb moment, that of Einstein with the geometry of spacetime in general relativity: http://wp.me/sbg4K-eclat.

    April 19, 2011 at 12:21 pm

  11. Bill Noble

    It’s my wife’s 60th birthday, and likely to be the last one she’ll be able to genuinely celebrate. No birthday poem appeared from my unconscious this year, but a magnificent 75-chapter collection of stories and appreciations from family, friends and colleagues did materialize, and I’ve been their assiduous editor in preparation for the big party on Saturday. So here’s my poem for the day:

    MULTITASKING

    Shrieking kid,
    rubber-band legs,
    dodging cars
    to snatch
    a whiffle ball,
    bent lady,
    blue shopping bag
    scraping the road,
    porky
    pink couple,
    one
    prissy smile,
    scowler
    whizzing past
    in spandex.
    Busy
    living.
    Just
    as busy
    dying.

    April 19, 2011 at 1:02 pm

  12. (A quickie…very rough draft.)

    first came the realization
    that there was no need
    to keep on taking it
    the beatings stopped
    when I left him

    second came the power
    of my own fist raised
    in solidarity,
    in the good fight,
    independent

    third was vast,
    unending loneliness,
    no compass, no direction,
    falling into dark
    abyss

    this fourth way,
    opens into unknown
    vistas, but not
    a path taken
    alone

    April 19, 2011 at 3:30 pm

  13. This is actually the prompt from a few days ago…

    http://teresanoelleroberts.blogspot.com/2011/04/two-down-one-to-go.html

    April 19, 2011 at 4:50 pm

  14. I completely whiffed this last year. Maybe this year’s is better: http://lovesgoodfood.com/jason/posts/Day_19_2011-2/

    April 19, 2011 at 7:51 pm

  15. Lightbulb moments usually click on dramatically
    Like the climax of a movie that moves you so You’re sure your life will change
    American Beauty, Shadows and Fog, Office Space
    In the moment, that’s all there is
    Until you stand up, walk out, shuffle out
    Into the sunlight
    And then the small things start to creep in
    Ordinary worries and concerns, to-do lists
    Start living life as every moment counts? yes
    But that can be put off until tomorrow…
    And before you realize, the moment is gone

    But sometimes that flash comes in the mundane
    When you’re walking through campus
    See an old friend sitting on a bench with another dude
    And they’re both wearing the same tie
    Dressed completely identical, twin douchebags
    You realize it’s a fraternity thing
    Conformity for conformity’s sake
    He waves weakly, pretending to be cool
    You smile slightly, but don’t wave, moving on
    You never did like that guy
    Turning to the task at hand, crossing the street and down another block
    Confronting someone you do care about
    Asking why or what or how

    It’s some time later
    You muse why people act the way they do
    Why they lack character, originality
    And you realize they’re just like every other organism trying to fit in

    April 19, 2011 at 9:34 pm

  16. Resolutely sticking to the prompt as a learning and growth experience. Not terribly happy with this one; feels forced. Meh. I can make something of this later, maybe.

    http://feedingthegeek.tumblr.com/post/4771646413/discontinuities

    April 19, 2011 at 11:47 pm

  17. Not in love with this one, but love the concept – will probably edit this one in the future.

    http://mizadventurez.blogspot.com/2011/04/day-nineteen-ah-hathe-electricitys-back.html

    April 20, 2011 at 8:04 am

  18. Pingback: Poem#19 – The House on Madison « Black Satin