A poem-a-day for National Poetry Month

Prompt #02: Unwritten Desire

Today’s prompt brought to us by poet Christopher Luna.

***

Write a poem in the form of a letter to a person you desire but have not told, telling him or her what you would like to do to them.

***

Reminders for Participants: You can post your poem below in the comments, offer a link back to your site where the poem is posted, or comment about the experience of writing the poem (without actually posting the poem). If you’re going to comment on other participant’s poems, please remember that this is not a critique space — comments should be kept thoughtful and supportive. Lastly, remember you don’t have to use the prompt to write your poem — they’re here for your inspiration but they’re certainly not a requirement.

Let the Wild Poeming Being!

39 responses

  1. Bill Noble

    WELL RED

    Happy birthday, Shanna

    In my revised version of the ancient story
    she comes trooping in her crimson cape,
    beautiful with her basket of cookies,
    and offers me — well, nearly anything.

    C’mon, she says, admit you want it,
    and I do, I want her seductively crooked
    nose and her dark graceful prose,
    and what I‘m sure are implied promises

    that soar far beyond any possible fiction
    to perfect quivering submissiveness
    and all her pent-up rainy season passion
    if I’ll just write her a poem every single day.

    April 1, 2011 at 10:56 pm

  2. Today’s effort can be found at http://feedingthegeek.tumblr.com/post/4278457806/symphony-of-the-unbegun

    I swung at the prompt, daring myself to “go there”. This was a bit scary to write and a bit scary to expose.

    April 1, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    • Jason, that was incredible. The object of your desires is a lucky one!

      April 2, 2011 at 5:52 am

    • chloe

      really enjoyed it, Jason. That was fun, passionate, and erotic.

      April 2, 2011 at 7:22 am

    • Beautiful poem, and very clever ending!

      April 3, 2011 at 10:17 am

  3. Oh, I’ve swerved away from the erotic potential of this prompt!

    Here’s my offering:

    http://nikkimagennis.blogspot.com/2011/04/taboo-and-more-lines-of-poetry.html

    Happy happy birthday, Shanna!

    (Bill, what a lovely gift.)

    April 2, 2011 at 12:56 am

  4. dorlamoorehouse

    Again, I didn’t do the prompt. Got some bad news last night and chose to respond to it in poetic form: http://dorlamoorehouse.com/2011/04/02/napowrimo-day-2-4/

    April 2, 2011 at 5:34 am

  5. Going to do the prompt soon myself! Awesome poem/b’day gift, Bill — thank you!

    April 2, 2011 at 8:50 am

  6. chloe

    I WAIT FOR YOU AND THE HAZEL-EYE DOG

    You walked like you owned every inch of the earth you step on
    I said, “I can help you with that.”

    Everyday you are a different kind of fierce

    The first time you broke my heart
    You were lying at the very end of a brown suede couch
    and had just told me a secret
    You folded inwards, limbs out
    a bird
    your house rocked and the river was dark.

    I wanted to fill my lungs with your breath

    I know you would stay by my side if I were dying
    I know you would stay by my side if I were dying

    It’s a window left open
    in the heat of mid-day in the South of France

    It’s about a breath that shouldn’t have been on your neck

    it’s about being so Southern-proper but saying fuck
    and saying it so that
    every drop of blood every cell every molecule of oxygen explodes in your eyes, it’s about your red nails your perfect feet your ivory teeth your neck I dreamed about for a blink,
    It’s about all that and
    knowing
    i will never see the moment, the seconds

    The lost breath of a first kiss.

    April 2, 2011 at 9:44 am

    • This is a beautifully passionate poem, Chloe. I love the repetition “I know you would stay by my side…”, and the line “every drop of blood…”

      April 3, 2011 at 10:32 am

      • chloe

        Thank you Jacque

        April 3, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    • Mary Beth Frezon

      I’ve come back to read this again. Thank you.

      April 3, 2011 at 6:31 pm

  7. Pingback: Poem-a-Day #2 « Shanna Germain

  8. Eeps! Today’s was hard. I’m loving reading all of the other poems — such a treat!

    http://yearofthebooks.wordpress.com/2011/04/02/poem-a-day-2/

    April 2, 2011 at 11:00 am

  9. Here Is My Promise

    http://lanijo.com/poetry/here-my-promise

    April 2, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    • @ Lani Jo -Exquisite!

      April 3, 2011 at 10:52 am

  10. My second, somewhat tangential to the prompt, is up at http://wp.me/pbg4K-2s .

    April 2, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    • chloe

      Liked it a lot.

      April 2, 2011 at 1:57 pm

  11. Jennifer Pratt-Walter

    Today’s haiku:
    Wild geese unlatch voice
    and blade the broad sky northward–
    spring seeps from the cut.

    Hopefully it is not considered cheating to use the haiku form repeatedly for this endeavor!

    April 2, 2011 at 1:19 pm

  12. Phew – I just barely beat the clock yesterday…my friend and I finished our poems at 11 something. Today, just a tad earlier. Here is my piece:

    http://thegermoftheidea.blogspot.com/2011/04/wronged-one.html

    April 2, 2011 at 3:31 pm

  13. Wake-up Call

    What if that dream—
    the one I had—where
    you and—
    ooh, and ooh,
    and I, aaah,
    and politeness falls
    away, the look,
    surprise, the wow,
    and now, you
    find me,
    and it is.

    April 2, 2011 at 4:10 pm

  14. Robin Elizabeth Sampson

    Here’s today’s.
    http://erobintica.blogspot.com/2011/04/when-you-desire-more-time-to-write-day.html

    April 2, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    • Great idea!

      April 2, 2011 at 8:24 pm

  15. Kam

    white shoulder softness
    smooth supple shadowed hair
    so much desire

    April 2, 2011 at 4:26 pm

  16. http://www.artsroundup.com/wp/?p=2813 for it on my web site. I debated posting it just here but what the heck. Let all the poetry hang out this month I say!

    =======================

    To one whose virtual ear I stroked

    Dear one,
    We met by chance when
    I wandered into your virtual world.
    My own familiar world was lost.
    You were friendly, you teased me.
    Having slain evil and dragons
    we chatted more.
    I dreamt of a bear that came to
    snuffle in my ear.
    My old brain said – this is not real.
    The rest raced ahead with
    what if’s and if he’s and would I’s
    In real life, friends saw me smile
    and wondered.
    I wondered how a night
    in a universe so digital
    could set my heart racing
    as I brushed your long ear.
    I had forgotten that rush,
    that breathlessness of new love,
    no matter how unlikely.

    I quest no more so far from home
    but think of you still.
    I am not so empty as then,
    before we met.
    If I could see you one more time
    I would do this —
    I would trace out your ear.
    And gently thank you.
    I will not forget you
    or the possibility of love.

    Mary Beth Frezon — 2 April 2011

    April 2, 2011 at 4:57 pm

  17. Mary Beth Frezon

    Bonus haiku:

    Cold. So very cold. 
    The furnace took the day off. 
    Reset stack sensor.

    April 2, 2011 at 5:56 pm

  18. Cynthia

    “Re:David Foster Wallace–a Wish for a Writer”

    To a dear writer departed too soon:
    I saw your photo on the back of Brief Interviews with Hideous Men. You look
    straight into the camera with a bemused smile,
    eyes kind and warm,
    like a Famous
    Writer should look to his fans, and I smiled back.
    In another photo, on the back
    Of A Supposedly Fun Thing I’ll Never Do Again,
    your hair is long and in a ponytail, the literary lion scratching archly against
    a conventional post.

    If I had you here in the now we’d do all the things you say you hate:
    We’d go to the Ohio
    State Fair and mingle with the crowd,
    We’d do Disney to death,
    And take not one, but two Carnival Cruises, back to back,
    And cap off our extravaganza of dreck with a visit to the Maine Lobster Festival, where you were once
    supposed to write an essay for Gourmet magazine about how much fun the festival is,
    and instead you wrote a piece about how much

    pain a lobster feels in the steamed heat of the pot.

    Your line about the lobster screaming when the heat’s on made me sigh, too,
    made my temp rise to an uncomfortable degree,
    made me a little jealous of the attention the sea bug garnered from you,

    I’ll have you yet, I will. I have a pact this summer with a friend to read Infinite Jest in its entirety,
    and I won’t stop until I see the photo at the end.

    April 2, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    • J. Adorno

      Wow
      This is awesome.
      Thank you

      btw
      I am hoping to read Infinite Jest this year too.

      April 3, 2011 at 2:06 am

  19. Kosuke Miyata

    Below is my 2nd, untitled poem, partially following the prompt. It took longer than I thought and feels unfinished.

    I see thin clouds of pale pink blossoms – not
    your favorite magnolias that I’d
    mistake for cherries – but real cherries side
    by side along the riverbank. They caught
    my eyes with their unusual remoteness
    and made me think of spring’s arrival in
    the north, in every town on Earth’s skin
    where people have been missing or gone homeless.
    You must remember that tornado-struck
    community in Kansas. “They’ve rebuilt
    two buildings,” said a woman. For the guilt
    of being passersby we wished best luck
    and hardly more. Now tell me we’re not through
    and let me learn to love by loving you.

    April 2, 2011 at 7:19 pm

  20. Rendering

    I cannot ascribe these feelings
    To anything noteworthy thus
    The reason they are not written down
    No imprint exists, no record

    But should you ask, or even nod
    I will engrave them slowly across your skin
    Articulate clearly at every angle the inappropriate spellings
    In ALL capital letters and
    An old English script, if you ask, if you say please

    April 2, 2011 at 7:19 pm

  21. Barely squeaking this in under the wire! It’s not written to the prompt and I’ve gone back to my rhyming here. How do you guys feel about rhyming poetry these days? I don’t seem to see many people writing it. Thanks!

    http://otherwaysofspeaking.blogspot.com/2011/04/invasion.html

    April 2, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    • Kosuke Miyata

      I like it when a required rhyming word comes into my head with a whole phrase, line or sentence that I never thought about.

      April 3, 2011 at 9:55 am

  22. wenweisso

    still not ready to share anything
    many years of dormancy still being shaken off

    yet, this prompt lead to very surprising places and a person i wouldn’t have even suspected yesterday

    love these daily time capsules

    one day i will share….

    April 2, 2011 at 8:04 pm

  23. Whew! This one was hard!

    http://ontillmourning.blogspot.com/2011/04/day-2.html

    April 2, 2011 at 8:18 pm

  24. Here is Day # 2 for me: Flooded
    http://jamesestes.tumblr.com/post/4304700275/flooded

    April 2, 2011 at 10:31 pm

  25. Happy Birthday, Super Girl

    I had lost this page for a minute, but penned it down before mid-naught.

    This tan-striped polecat
    Opposable raccoon thumbs
    Meant for strangling cats
    In a black furry mask
    Like the one you wore on New Year’s
    And little else
    Knowing none could match such felicity prancing
    Amid shy-spoken dollar bills sliding into
    This tan-striped polecat

    7 min 3 sec

    April 2, 2011 at 11:10 pm

  26. Missed posting this yesterday cuz I was at work all day and all night, but here’s my offering for day two.

    http://mizadventurez.blogspot.com/2011/04/letter.html

    Can’t wait to have time to read the rest.

    April 3, 2011 at 5:02 am

  27. I really enjoyed this prompt! Here’s mine, ‘Spit It Out’:

    http://www.fictionaut.com/stories/kirsty-logan/spit-it-out

    April 4, 2011 at 1:05 pm

  28. Scott

    Black hair

    Blue eyes

    a bit of a tattoo peeking out

    You could be 100 different women

    or none

    or one

    April 6, 2011 at 7:37 pm